Baca County is in the plains in southeastern Colorado, against the Kansas, Oklahoma and New Mexico borders: lots of flatland out there.

Baca County was formed out of the eastern section of Las Animas County by the Colorado legislature on April 16, 1889 and was named for Felipe Baca, pioneer, founder of Trinidad, Colorado, and Colorado territorial legislator.

Baca County contains 2,556 square miles of land and 1 square mile of water. The county seat and largest city is Springfield. A large piece of Baca County is under the jurisdiction of the Comanche National Grassland.

Comanche National Grassland

Photos are courtesy of TheArmchairExplorer, CCA-by-SA 4.0 License