La Plata County, Colorado

La Plata County is in the San Juan Mountains in southwestern Colorado. This is the home of Durango and the famous Durango & Silverton Scenic Railroad. Named for the Spanish word for "silver" (la plata), La Plata County contains 1,692 square miles of land and 8 square miles of water. The county seat is Durango.

The La Plata County Welcome Center in Durango
The Welcome Center in Durango
Photos are courtesy of TheArmchairExplorer, CCA-by-SA 4.0 License