NOAA Sites

Papahanaumokuakea Marine National Monument
Underwater at Papahanaumokuakea Marine National Monument
A clownfish in the anemones

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration is charged with overseeing activities in the 14 marine protected areas of the National Marine Sanctuary System: 13 marine sanctuaries and 1 national monument.

In all, there are more than 170,000 square miles of submerged lands included in the system, stretching from the Florida Keys to the Olympic Peninsula and from Lake Superior to American Samoa.

National Marine Sanctuaries

In the Farallon Islands
South Farallon Island in the Greater Farallon Islands Marine National Monument
A heron having lunch in a National Estuarine Research Reserve

National Estuarine Research Reserves

National Estuarine Research Reserves map
Locations of the National Estuarine Research Reserves